Business and Development – Rewards for Shared Value

With less than three weeks go before the closing date for nominations, the World Business and Development Awards today announced the ten-member international judging panel charged with determining award winners in 2012.

Organizers today issued a final call for businesses to submit successful initiatives in linewith the Rio+20 UN Conference on Sustainable Development. All organisations, regardless of size or location, engaged in innovative business models delivering both commercial success and helping improve social, economic andenvironmental conditions are eligible to apply online. The closing date is 25th March 2012.

The award ceremony will be held on 19th June, when governments convene in Brazil at the Rio+20 Conference, closing the Business Action for Sustainable Development Business Day.

The International Judging Panel will be chaired by Alan Detheridge, Associate Director of The Partnering Initiative and a board member of the Synergos Institute, the International Foundation for Education and Self-Help, Management Sciences for Health and the Revenue Watch Institute.

The international judging panel that will determine this year’s winners includes:

*Graham Baxter, Senior Adviser, International Business Leaders Forum
*Jean-Guy Carrier, Secretary General, International Chamber of Commerce
*Susan Chaffin, Head of Business Call to Action Secretariat
*Ying Chen, Director, Beijing Rongzhi Institute of Corporate Social Responsibility and Vice President, China Enterprise Confederation (CEC)
*Lisa Dreier, Director of Food Security and Development Initiatives, World Economic Forum USA
*Wanda Engel, Executive President, Unibanco Institute and a member of US Secretary of State Hilary Clinton’s International Council on Women’s Business.
*Sameer Hajee, Co-founder and CEO, Nuru Energy
*Ted London, Senior Research Fellow, William Davidson Institute (WDI) and faculty member of University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business
*Sir Mark Moody-Stuart, Vice Chairman, UN Global Compact and Chairman of the Global Compact Foundation, the Innovative Vector Control Consortium and Hermes Equity Ownership Services
*Jane Nelson, Director, Harvard Kennedy School’s Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative and Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

The closing date is 25th March 2012 and forms can be downloaded at ––www.worldbusinessawards.net/nominate.

Leesa Muirhead
Leesa Muirhead
bespoke philanthropy and social investment

Leave a Reply